December 8, 2014

  • Bill Medley regrets breaking James Bond Lifestyle rule #5

    bill Medely

    In Bill Medley’s new book: The Time of My Life – A Righteous Brother’s Memoir, he says:

    In Las Vegas, I went to my road manager's office. I was not dressed well for such a meeting; I was wearing slippers, a ratty old sweater and Levis. I also hadn't shaved for about three days. We noticed that Bobby Darin was playing at the Flamingo, so we snuck in the back because I was dressed so badly.

    Halfway through the show, Bobby announces, "Ladies and gentlemen, Bill Medley from the Righteous Brothers is here. Bill come on up." There was no way, dressed like I was, that I was going to get up there. I signaled a polite "no thanks" but Bobby persisted with the band playing What'd I Say, while I kept saying, "No, no thanks," for three minutes.

    "C'mon up Bill," Bobby said, not giving up. Finally my road manager said, "You're just gonna have to go up....and start dressing better."

    As I got up, I hit the table and a pitcher of beer spilled all over my crotch. Dressed like a homeless guy, with my pants looking like I'd just had a bladder accident, I took the stage. Since the band was playing, I couldn't stop and explain what had happened. Thank God this was before cell phone cameras.

    After the song I said, "Bobby, sorry for the way I'm dressed, I was just coming into town for a quick meeting and I spilled a pitcher of beer on my way up here." Bobby cracked up, along with the audience.

    I did learn a great lesson though. Believe me, I never go out in public looking like that anymore, and I'm extra careful about having pitchers of liquids on my table. In hindsight, it was one of my most embarrassing moments, but a funny one, too.

    James Bond Lifestyle rule #5: I dress up, even at home alone.

    How to Live the James Bond Lifestyle - Read 30 sample pages on amazon: http://goo.gl/IsNrU