December 14, 2014

  • The Time Machines's George Pal and Me

    GEORGE PAL ME

    Me and George Pal as I thank him.

    When I was 12, I wrote to George Pal, asking for a photo of Rod Taylor fighting a Morlock, from the movie The Time Machine which Mr. Pal produced and directed. I didn’t have his address, so I sent it to MGM Studios. I figured it would probably never get into Mr. Pal’s hands, but that at least I tried.

    A month later, I received an 8X10 photo of Rod Taylor holding a touch as he hits a Morlock, plus a short letter from George Pal saying, “I’m glad you like the movie. Here is a photo for you.”

    15 years later, I met Mr. Pal at a movie convention with my first words being: “When I was 12, I wrote to you for a photo of Rod Taylor in The Time Machine….” As I spoke, I could see his face getting worried that I was about to complain about never getting it. I continued, “…. And you sent me the best photo of Rod fighting a Morlock. You made a 12 year old boy very happy.”

    He smiled and then, after signing a photo of War of the Worlds, he said, “I’m glad you received the photo.”

    Over the years, various filmmakers have answered my letters and requests. Animator Ray Harryhausen – The 7th Voyage of Sinbad sent me a photo and letter and years later I show it to him and thanked him for it. Director of two Elvis Presley movies, Peter Tewksbury, always answered my letters about his filming and editing techniques and working with Elvis on Stay Away, Joe and The Trouble with Girls.

    These days, because of the movies I directed have been getting re-issued and some attention, plus the fact that I wrote How to Live the James Bond Lifestyle, I get lots of requests for advice. Because I remember how much it meant to me that George Pal and the others replied to my request, so I never turn down fan requests that come to me. In fact, I enjoy doing so.

    And little did I know that Rod and Alan Young would perform in my audio-books years later. Dreams are worth pursuing.

    Coming soon to kindle / audio for $2.99:

    Rod Taylor narrating my audio-book: Rock Star Rising. Performed by Russ Tamblyn, George Chakiris, Robert Culp, James Darren and Kevin McCarthy.